Day 31

31 days ago I (we) made a commitment to write a slice of our daily lives every day for the month. Today is day 31. Throughout this new journey and personal challenge I took on, I’ve experienced a variety of emotions from one end of the spectrum to the other. These emotions varied as a writer (yes, I just called myself a writer), to a reader.

I’ve been in awe in reading the blogs associated with Two Writing Teacher’s blog. We have 44 staff members from my school district that have participated in this Slice of Life challenge this year. Reading each one of their blogs has been amazing and inspiring. I’ve also read so many other blogs of people I’ve never met. Some of you I feel like I now know you, just from what you’ve shared and allowed me to read. I’ve smiled, I’ve shook my head as I’ve agreed with what was said, I’ve felt sadness, I’ve felt empathy, I’ve laughed out loud, and I’ve cried. I’ve experienced all of this because of this writing challenge. Hmmm…

I am so proud of myself. This is my 22nd year as an educator. I spent 13 years in the classroom as a special education teacher, 7 years as dean of students, and 2 years as an assistant principal. Yes I’ve taught writing, yes I’ve demonstrated writing, and yes, I’ve modeled writing, but no, I never considered myself a writer. I was extremely nervous saying yes to this writing challenge. What would people think? Would I be able to keep up and actually write something for 31 days straight? Am I going to make a fool of myself? These were just a few of the many questions and thoughts going through my head leading up to March 1, 2015. To be completely honest it wasn’t until February 28th that I made up my blog website (which is going to mean so much more to me next year), and filled out the form on the Two Writing Teachers blog. That’s how afraid I was because I didn’t know what to expect. As I would write, I smiled, I shook my head as I agreed even more with what I was writing, I felt sadness, I laughed out loud as I wrote, and yes I cried at times as I wrote. I ended up putting some very personal stories and thoughts on these pages, something I didn’t think I would ever be able to do. But, I did. And I’m very proud. Because I’m a writer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 31

  1. blkdrama says:

    So glad you joined us this year. I was right with you, teaching English for many years without seeing myself as a writer. But when that changed my teaching was transformed. So good to have you with us and let’s continue 🙂 together.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tzawacki15 says:

      Thanks Brig!! It’s kind of crazy (in a good way), what this challenge brings out of you and shows you! (I loved being there with you teaching English…I always thought you were an amazing writer!)

      Like

  2. Donna Smith says:

    Amazingly, this is the first time I’ve read your blog! There were so many offerings this year! But now that I’m here – congratulations for taking on the challenge and sharing your stories. I am going to have to go back and read more! Remember that you can keep writing and linking here every Tuesday!

    Like

  3. jodimahoney says:

    Congratulations! Consider put your slices into a hard cover copy of a book. I use Shutterfly to do this and now I have 5 volumes of slicing!

    Like

  4. Kim K says:

    You ARE a writer! It’s been a great month reading everyone’s slices, yours included!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. peteacher1 says:

    YOU ARE A WRITER! I am so glad you took on the challenge. I loved your descriptions of your emotions while reading and writing and while I was reading this piece, I shook my head in agreement with so many of your statements. I am so glad you decided to join us. I have enjoyed your stories and thoughts and think it allowed you to grow as a person and share some personal things that you wouldn’t have been able to do otherwise. Awesome job!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. newtreemom says:

    Glad you had the opportunity to discover that you are a writer. Isn’t that amazing?! I scrolled through and read several of your other slices while I was here, and you surely are a writer. It was sad but lovely to read about your little son and how you cherish the time you had. I loved Stinky Feet, having been an avid player of the game when my daughter was a baby!

    Like

Leave a Reply

