Songs & Memories

Ohh, Girls Just Wanna Have Fun….I turned on Pandora radio and this is what was playing. Immediately I was taken back to a high school. Dances at my high school in particular. All the girls coming together dancing, okay it was really just jumping up and down to the beat, but who could resist, girls just wanna have fun! Oh to be in high school again…wait, I don’t know that I could do it again. Things have changed just a little since I’ve been out of high school. Let’s see now, about 10 years….ya right, in my dreams it’s been 10 years! The fact Cyndi Lauper took me back to that time in my life gives it away just a bit.

The thought of just starting to drive and to have my parents trust in me that I could  handle driving without them. Going to school, having homework again, and oh the research papers-okay maybe that part I don’t exactly miss. Playing high school basketball and softball, tp’ing our coaches house after conference, regional and state championships…I do miss those days. I wish I knew then what I know now. The friendships that were made. The high school football games. As soon as the clock ticked down in the 3rd period, the entire student section waiting for the last click 00:00….4, 4, 4,….The crowd would go crazy, hoisting 4 fingers to the sky and shouting at the top of our lungs- four!! (you see the Coach gave a speech at a pep rally one day stressing the 4th quarter is ours, because we believe. That’s all it took).

I loved my high school years!!!! I love the memories and cherish those memories. Thanks Cyndi Lauper for being on Pandora Radio!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Songs & Memories

  1. Loralee says:

    What a fun post! We must be around the same age!
    I, too, loved high school and have wonderful memories of teams, student council and all.
    I enjoyed reminiscing with you.
    I’m sure it was only ten years ago. :0)

    Like

  2. I love when a good song from the past comes on the radio. Feelings of nostalgia for sure. I still remember the video of “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun”.

    Like

  3. 1984-1990 IS the golden age of radio. 🙂

    Like

  4. Veronica says:

    “ya right, in my dreams it’s been 10 years”

    YES — it’s only been 10 years. For me, it was CC Music Factory, what the kids now call Dubstep, Techno-Something. What our middle schoolers are crazy about.

    Ah! Wondering what your Birthday Girl’s fav song is! And what she’ll be jumping to! Mine? Oy!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

