connections

For 23 years I’ve prided myself on making connections. Some connections come very easy and naturally. Others take time, patience, and motivation. These connections are with my kids, my husband, my family,  babies. students, teachers, parents, grandparents, extended families, siblings, and even people I do not know.

How do we make these connections work? I mean how do we connect with someone? Again, for some people this is very easy. We know them as a “people person.” We all know this type of person. They can engage just about anyone in a conversation and have them hooked. But what about those that are hard to reach…do we give up on them? Do we just pass by and not say hello or even smile in their direction? Do we walk the other way so we don’t have to come to that awkwardness of what do I do? Do we look at the ground as to not make eye contact? This drives me absolutely insane!

I think about all the students and staff members in my building. I know exactly who’s the least likely to not respond to my greeting, or who’s going to look away or look down to avoid contact. Both kids and adults. Well guess what?? I’m not one of those people, and I will continue making every effort possible to make even the smallest impact/imprint on each person’s life I come in contact with. If we want our kids and students to be those respectful, gracious, well mannered people, we have to lead by example. Say hello. Ask, How are you? Ask, How are things going? Ask, what book are you reading in literacy or just for fun. Ask, How was your weekend? These simple gestures will open doors of opportunities. These simple gestures will let another person know you see them, you acknowledge their being, that you care.

It’s so important for our kids to know we care and to know we are here for them.

Make a difference in someone’s life, make a connection.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to connections

  1. Kim K says:

    What a great reminder. You are someone who always puts the person you are with at ease. 🙂

    Like

  2. crobertson says:

    That last line. So meaningful and true. I get this also in the store sometimes, when I smile waiting to meet someones eyes and they just continue looking forward despite seeing my welcoming greeting. Uncomfortable. But as you have reminded me, lets not give up!

    Like

  3. Veronica says:

    Ah, thank you, T — “acknowledge their being,” Yes!

    Like

Leave a comment