I’d do it again…

I have two knees. They aren’t what they used to be that’s for sure. Although if people know me, I really don’t let much slow me down. When my kids are involved in sports, I’m right there with them helping them practice kicks, dribbling, stops, and blocks in soccer, and playing/practicing throwing, catching, hitting and pitching in softball.

Today was the culmination of a week long celebration of my daughter’s 13th birthday. After several years of her choosing not to have a party, she decided this year turning 13 she’d like to invite her softball team and our neighbors to Sky High Sports…a trampoline facility….hmm,  thoughts immediately entered my mind:

  1.  This is her entire team…on trampolines…4 weeks before our season gets going…
  2. Our softball season begins in 4 weeks…the entire team on trampolines…jumping and flipping…I’ve seen some of these girls trip over their own shoelace shadow…
  3. I’m going to have to jump so I can keep a close eye on them…which means me jumping on trampolines…
  4. Did I mention this involves trampolines???

Today was the day. Taylor is so excited to spend a couple hours with her friends and teammates. I’m excited and a tiny bit nervous. Nervous that I don’t want anyone getting hurt. Nervous that I haven’t jumped on a trampoline in a million years, and I want to be able to walk on Easter!

As soon as all the girls were there and they heard our host say, “girls you can go jump,” they were gone in a flash! I on the other hand took my time. I stood on the side just watching and smiling. They were free, they were having the best time laughing, flipping, running and jumping. They were being kids. This place was awesome. After about 15 minutes, I finally made a move…I stepped onto one of the trampolines. Oh boy…the girls came over by me yelling come on Coach Tammy, jump with us, do a flip, here I’ll spot you do a back flip…are they completely insane?!! I don’t need to break, tear, sprain or strain anything. I was already taking a huge risk stepping onto that trampoline just  keeping my balance. I believe the first words out of my mouth were, “oh crap!” This thing was really springy! I slowly began to get a rhythm with my knees bending to push and giving a little to land on my feet. As time went on, I could manage jumping on those bad boys. As the girls continued to call my name and saying watch this, now you try it. I shocked them all when I said, “okay, here it goes…”  Jump, jump, jump, stop, squat, roll…I did it!! I did a somersault!! The best part was, they all cheered for me, ha ha ha!

So the 2 hour party went on without anyone getting hurt, thank God!! But I believe there are quite a few girls who are sore…including this girl. My knees just aren’t what they used to be, but I wouldn’t change anything, especially when it comes to my kids.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment